top of page
  • Writer's picturethe monterei club magazine

"Home" by Kate Kennedy

Updated: Apr 16, 2021

"Home" as a topic is fairly difficult for me. I searched through years of photos and contemplated taking new ones for this theme. You see, I'm a navy brat; I have moved around my entire life. So when people ask me where home is, I usually struggle to answer. More often than not, I just say wherever it is I am living at that time...even if I'd only lived there for a few months.


The photo I took is visible on my instagram because I took it over the summer of 2019. We were moving...again. We spent 2 weeks driving across the country that summer from CA to VA. I saw amazing places. Home to me is like the song by Alice Merton, "No Roots". It's not just where I lay my head at night, or the place I am living at that moment. Home is a feeling of exploration, photography, and books, but most of all love.


This photo represents home to me because my family and I are in a car exploring a national park. We were in the middle of our chaotic move, not knowing when our boxes or other cars would arrive in VA. We had each other, and we were happy. I was sitting in the front seat when I took this photo because I was getting car-sick in the way back, probably from reading deep philosophical texts, while on winding roads. My mom offered me her seat and I graciously took it. I brought my camera with me to the front of the car, as it is one of my other passions, and the scenery was begging me to capture it in a photo. So, book and camera in hand, exploring new places with my family, I felt loved. And, I felt home.



1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page